SiteLock security review-complaints-scam

Sad face Icon

accept apology

We apologize for the inconvenience; it was not in our control”. 

All of our websites went down on January 12, 2016 at 08:40 AM

 

HostGator crossout

Hostgator finally released:  www.AccordingToRuss.com on 2/28/2016.

Our sites were down for 47 days, Hostgator (website hosting company) claimed that one of our websites had been (supposedly) compromised.

Warning!!! This could happen to you!  If you have a website or know someone that does, head this warning.

Site Lock crossoutIf your website is hosted by HostGator or possibly any other hosting company that promotes Sitelock web security; you need to be prepared, understand and acknowledge that your website can be suspend at any time.

According to Hostgator; one of my websites was compromised, so instead of suspending that one site, they suspended all nine of our sites.

While speaking to a junior administrator at HostGator, I was transferred to a web security company called: SiteLock.    The woman I spoke to was very rude explaining to me, that I must pay them to get the sites back up and running.  She informed me that I would have to pay SiteLock, a monthly fee of $49.95 per website…  That would cost $449.55 per month or $5,394.60 per year. I was outraged!

After sending several tickets/request to HostGator, they decided to release only one of my sites; www.AccordingToRuss.com.

I suggested and gave them permission to delete the compromised website all together to eliminate any further problems. They did not acknowledge that request.

After reviewing many complaints while searching out reviews of Hostgator and Sitelock, I came to realize that this was an everyday scam practice of Hostgator, Sitelock and possibly other website hosting companies.

The conclusion I came to is, I would have to pay an unmitigated ransom to have my websites released.

Just in

Apparently… BlueHost, Hostgator, and wait for it…. SiteLock, are all owned by the same parent company – this sheds a whole lot of light, and seems more and more like the scam that it is.

To secure the release of my websites we would have to pay the required price, of $449.55 per month or $5,394.60 per year.

I called Sitelock directly recently and asked to speak to the sales department, I was astonished from what was said.

Their pricing is set depending on who is hosting your website.

Prices range from as little as $12.00 a month per website to $2,000.00 per website per month.

The $12.00 security program will not guarantee protection from hackers.

With any web based security company that charges such outrageous prices, I wonder, could Sitelock develop their own viruses and hack thousands of websites.  Wouldn’t this be a great scam?  They would use the same programs to clear the viruses out within seconds.   What and who could stop them? Once you pay them the ransom, you get your sites back and they get a hansom monthly fee.

Any hosting company that refers Sitelock to its members should be under suspicion, remember they receive a commission from Sitelock!

It seemed strange to me that Hostgator shut down all of my websites even though, they said only one site was supposable compromised.

Could it be that; Hostgator shuts down all of your websites so that you could not hire a less expensive outside website security source, scan your websites and find out if there are no viruses at all?  They would have no choice to turn them back on and lose their commission from Sitelock

By the way, we have transferred all of our web sites to another web hosting company.

 

For more information read the comments below.

One of many complaints with Jennifer SiteLock: Click Here

For more information read the comments below.

Be Sociable, Share!

30 Responses to “SiteLock security review-complaints-scam”

  1. Andrew A. says:

    Reading the other submissions was like experiencing my own frustration with Sitelock. I recently received a google email informing me they had discovered malware on my website, and were displaying a warning message to anyone accessing it.

    My website is my business bread and butter.. 95% of ALL my clients come via the website, so this got my attention quickly.

    I called my ISP host, GoDaddy (incredibly great service, by the way), and a helpful young tech helped me identify a host of bad files on the site, which we deleted. Then the tech recommended I sign up for the sitelock monthly service to “prevent further malware intrusions”.. I agreed, and the tech supposedly initiated the first scan immediately.

    An hour or so later, I get an email from a representative from Sitelock, with a horrifying report claiming virtually every single one of my files was infected with malware, and suggesting I call a direct line to resolve the issue.

    Once I got the “closer” on the line, she started trying to get me to sign up for a $150/MONTH service to do what they claimed to do. I refused, and the technician told me I should contact my ISP and have my website taken down, because it could affect other sites on the host, as well as any other viewer of my own website.

    I hung up, called my ISP and related my experience. The techs there looked again at my website and pronounced it healthy, suggesting that I do nothing further.

    I am convinced that SiteLock is just a big scam, using the very scan facility

  2. Tom Miller says:

    Thank you for the article. I just received an email from Sitelock and my initial thought was that it was a sales tactic, which I googled and found your article. I am a software developer and sysadmin, and the domain in question is a WordPress site that I have had for several years and have had locked down. I am pretty sure there is no malware up there, and it may be similar to your situation where there is a link on the site that might be having issues.

    Thanks again for your post–helps confirm what I suspected.

  3. Jim says:

    I am waiting for an attorney with a “set” to start a class actions against sitelock
    Below is my “fun” with sitelock;
    Dear Elyse, Thank you for your response!
    Some background first, would be proper. I am a webmaster and host all of my domain’s (77 Domains)with one of Endurance International Group companies,Powweb.com.
    After a malware attack on one of my WordPress (WP) websites on 9/22/2015, Icontacted sales at Powweb and had WP Essentials placed on the accounts that contained WP website. I was told that the WP Essentials was only a shelland I needed to place the FIND protection on EACH of the domains that are WP
    Websites to be protected. I was told that the FIND protection would runDaily malware scans and Block automated bot attacks. I was told “That would cover me”. So I purchased eighteen(18) copies of the FIND protection at $14.99 per copy. Cost $269.82
    On that day I had another attack on another WP website, I was notified by Powweb of the attach and that my account was being suspended. I called POWWEB support only to be told that FIND only REPORTS and in reality it does not block malware. At this time I was told that I should upgrade to FIX which not on scans and block, it also delete malware file. Therefore Ipurchased 15 copies of this FIX protection at $89.99 per copy. Cost $1,349.85.

    Now here where it gets really interesting. On October 16, 2015 I receive a SiteLock Alert email, whose content is displayed below and Attached. Dear W
    We have detected a critical cross-site scripting vulnerability at your site pghinventionco.com. This must be corrected within 72 hours in order to maintain your certification. Please see your SiteLock dashboard for more details.
    From your dashboard, you can also take advantage of our Expert Services team to help you correct this issue.
    Should you have any questions, please give us a call anytime at 415-390-2500. Our website security experts are here 24/7.
    Thank you, The SiteLock Team
    * Please note, if you purchased your SiteLock service through a reseller (such as your hosting provider), you will likely need to access your Dashboard by logging in through their website.
    ** For comprehensive security, we highly recommend our TrueShield Web Application Firewall as the ultimate line of defense to keep your website protected. Please call us at the number above or visit SiteLock.com to learn more.
    You have been subscribed as jimd@wjdesigns.com. If you do not want to receive any more advertising or promotional emails from us or if you would like to modify your subscription settings, just click here.

    Copyright 2015 SiteLock, LLC
    So I now called SiteLock to ask, why did not my FIX protection, which they call SMART remove the cross-site scripting vulnerability? I was told that cross-site scripting vulnerability is not considered malware and therefore would not be removed, I would have to do it myself. I asked how could they remove my certification as I have paid FIX coverage on that domain. I was given no answer, but told I could upgrade to have these vulnerability cover.
    I said that this was unacceptable please escalate, create a ticket. I rec’ed an email confirming that Sitelock created a ticket # RYS-865348 (Attached). I can’t seem to locate this ticket on my SiteLock account, so I set an email SiteLock asking where I could find the ticket. I AM STILL
    WAITING.
    I deleted all of the cross-site scripting files and sent a email to SiteLock stating so and request a confirmation response. I AM STILL WAITING.
    At this point I called back POWWEB, because its them who are promotingSiteLock and they are the one’s taking my money.
    What I have gone through is a classic case of the old bait and switch or at worst, thief by deception.
    I have actual out of pocket losses of $1519.67. That does not include the time I have spent on this problem. I bill at $75 per hour. I have noticed that many people on the web are voicing the same probem and there’s even an attorney interested it the pratice of Powweb and SiteLock.
    I noticed at another one of Endurance International Group companies iPage.com has SiteLock setup as a negative choice (the box is checked by default) when you set up an account. I believe if this is happening to me that it is also happening to others. Please review and let me know how you wish to proceed.
    W. James Dembowski Owner and Webmaster WJDesigns – Web Development and Designs Consulting Company

  4. Daniel says:

    I had a very similar experience, my host (Hostgator) has decided to now include free Sitelock scanning of my sites, I read through the terms and it clearly stated that I would have to pay a fee for them to remove any nasties. Within 2 weeks I get a notification of a problem, my site is at immediate risk, I may get booted off of Google and lose all my visitors.

    The notification didn’t give me any info about what or where the issue was, just a scary warning and a phone number to call.

    I assumed it would be answered by a salesperson. I smelled a rat. The whole set up looked like a fishy money making scam.

    I did over a dozen malware scans of the site, what did I find? Nothing.

    I have security software on the site that detects and then warns me about changes to key files on the site, I checked the logs – nothing.

    I manually checked some key files on the site – nothing.

    I checked my Google Dashboard for any malware warnings – nothing.

    I then checked all the comments on the site and noticed that one commenter had posted a link that was now leading a website that had been compromised. This comment was buried deep in the comments section of page that hardly gets viewed.

    For the record – one link in a comments section doesn’t get you banned from Google. It doesn’t compromise my site. larger sites have potentially millions of outgoing links to other sites and at any time one or more of those sites could get hacked.

    I removed the comment, took about 5 seconds.

    While it’s great that Sitelock found this minor issue, I think it’s deceptive of them to imply that this was a major issue that threatened my site as a whole. They obviously hold back info on the threat for a reason, they don’t want you to know how easy it is to fix!

    The fees they suggested for removal were nothing short of disgusting.

    I wonder how many site owners have paid hundreds of dollars for them to do 5 seconds work?

    This reminds me of those computer Anti Virus scams where they scan your site, tell you your computer is infected and then charge you a subscription to remove something like a harmless cookie!

  5. Graham says:

    Having migrated all sites from Hostgator and deleted everything (databases, mailboxes, files etc.) 2 days ago, I got an email this morning with the 3rd attempt at scamming me. ROTFL.

    HG did try to sort of apologize and explain without saying anything meaningful, asking for examples of their emails. I sent them a detailed reply (Included here only to educate you about the truth behind their claims).

    For those on a budget, WordFence does a great job. Moving to a VPS allows you to block countries – this is a major benefit in preventing hackers).

    ——————————

    They also claimed that the malware could only be fixed by sending a technician to site. That is complete nonsense. All servers are accessed ‘over the network’ and no software issue requires physical access to the hardware to fix. Come on – who are they kidding?

    At this point I know this is a Nigerian scam. There’s more, but I’ve got tired.

    ——————————–
    “As the Global Leader in site security and the security partner provider for over 150 different hosting firms worldwide (GoDaddy, BlueHost, iPage, FatCow to name a few) we that this very well.”

    Actually, Sucuri is, all hosts listed are EIG hosts, nobody else would runs this scam.

    “The one time clean is $300 — but we Do Not recommend this as it’s only one time and only secures your site for that day.”

    So – don’t clean it, just pay us a monthly is their advice.

    “If there is no SSL/ e-commerce on the site that you want to have cleaned, then we can do the Infinity Manual Cleaning Service at $99.99 per month with a Basic Firewall (not compatible with SSL’s).”

    Who, on shared hosting, is going to pay $99.99 per month for bogus ‘protection’ when WordFence is free? Why are ecommerce files not included? they are just files. Oh, I know – because we can extort even more money. As a security company, you want me to leave a door wide open and not use ssl? A firewall also does not stop WordPress getting hacked otherwise no sites would be hacked because all hosts run firewalls as a basic protection measure.

    ———————————
    “During a recent SiteLock security scan of your website http://www.jam88.com, malware was detected that could jeopardize the safety of your website and your customers’ data. As a longtime partner of HostGator, SiteLock security was included in your hosting package to help ensure the protection of your investment.”

    This is the empty folder site that was moved to a new host 2 months ago.

    ——————————–

    “To answer your question, the malware is located somewhere within your website’s files.”

    There are NO files in an empty folder.

    “Even though the site isn’t up, your site is still susceptible to attack.”

    How? the ‘site’ at Hostgator is not accessible on the internet (because it is hosted elsewhere), so the only malware I could ‘catch’ would come from someone infecting a different site first (Not found in your ‘scan’) or from SIteLock or Hostgator putting it there.

    “If you no longer use the site, I suggest that you communicate with HostGator to remove any remnants left of that site,”

    Hostgator do not do file maintenance on websites

    ——————————-
    “I have sent a reset password link to your email.”

    Since I do not have an account with SiteLock and they think I do (There’s another question of credibility there) – What password? What account?

    “Within the dashboard, you can view the malware that has infected jam88.com for yourself. It is malicious coding, therefore, I cannot specific exactly where it is in your website’s files because it is among thousands of lines of code.”

    The English is appalling (Alert) they do not understand that lines of code are contained in files. A website is not one large program. I know – I write websites. SiteLock can’t identify a file, only ‘code’ – another red flag : They don’t understand basic computing.
    ——————————-

    “SMART (Secure Malware Automatic Removal Tool) – automatically detects and deletes 92% of malware”

    So Nortons claims 99% and the best that ‘The World’s leading security company’ can do is 92% ? Pathetic success rate which leaves me 8% wide open and all for $100 a month? Get real.

    ——————————-
    “Vulnerability fixes, in any existing or new plugins, themes, and source coding itself, we find them, and patch them.”

    What? you will repair WordPress, Joomla, Magento and all extensions and plugins? Yeah right.

    “Most importantly, complete 24×7 access to our ES(Expert Services) Team, that will manually go through your site and remove ANYTHING malicious or suspicious. Or any type of hack, defacement, redirect, pharma hack, phishing, crawling, etc.”

    Experts who do not know what a firewall is, can’t protect me from 8% of malware, think that my website has no files – just code, think that malware exists in an empty folder? etc.

    “Our Firewalls Prevent malware / hacks/ attacks, etc.”

    Hostgator already run firewalls unless they just left the office door open and walked away.

    “Enterprise Firewall: (Also a per month rate) CDN (content delivery network) boosting your site’s speed for your users across the Globe.”

    Nothing to do with firewalls – Cloudflare does this for free

    “SEO (search engine optimization) – Google recognizes you have taken these precautionary measures and Boosts your sites rankings in all search engines. (Google, Bing, Yahoo, Etc..) ”

    Nothing to do with firewalls – Where is the proof of results or guarantee of ranking? How on earth are SiteLock going to seo my site? (Submitting a site to Google does not count as seo) and Google does NOT recognize SiteLock or any other security measures as one of 200 ranking factors.

    “Traffic stats. Bot vs. Human visitor traffic stats.”

    Done by Awstats already for free

    “Minification. our engineers go through your entire source code, and remove any unnecessary spacing and/or characters, making your site’s load times quicker and your code less vulnerable to penetrating attacks.”

    Minification does NOT make code less vulnerable – it optimises code by removing redundant or duplicate code. And these are the engineers who will ‘fix any malware’ in my code?

    “Blocks backdoor connections. – This is huge right now. I see more backdoor hacks than anything else out there in the cyber crime world. This is undetectable from our scanners” because they are doing anything malicious. They are able to make Administrative decisions, change anything on your site.

    So the World’s number one can’t find the biggest threat?

    —————————————
    “Two of your sites have serious issues. All of your sites generally speaking have insufficient security as your host does not provide security for any domains they hos.”

    All of the sites run Wordfence, Sucuri and Bulletproof security which has prevented every attack (including a ddos of 6000 hits per day) and you tell me you can do better? The only ‘Malware’ you found is non existent.

    ” SiteLock is the security partner with HostGator because we are able to find, fix and prevent malware issues.”

    Only 92% and you only found non-existent ‘malware’ on an empty folder and a clean site out of 40+ sites?
    ————————————
    “All that we have access to is the level that we see for your Lite Scanner.”

    So, you claim to have found malware in my code (there is no ‘lower’ level to scan than code) but can’t tell me where it is because your scan does not go into the files? How do you know a file is infected if you do not look into it? makes no sense at all.

  6. Karan B says:

    I have also had a similar bad experience… They reported that they have removed so many fake malwares but never removed the actual malware… My website was also down but they didnt even look into it…

    Its a complete scam…

  7. I have only just started my website and I too added the Site Lock Security – Find to my hosting package with BlueHost. After reading several bad reviews I decided I wanted to cancel the Site Lock service. Blue Host advised me that If I cancel the Site Lock Security, then the Global CDN provided will also be cancelled. I am very new at all this and don’t fully understand the terminologies of CDN and DNS etc.

    If I did cancel and the CDN went too, is that something I can just pick up from another provider or plugin and would you have any suggestions on CDN providers? I am mainly just checking that it won’t be too big a deal if the CDN with Site Lock gets cancelled too.

    I was also wondering whether regular Internet Security providers like Norton would have the same effect in picking up Malware etc or that is just a general computer scan and not a website specific scan like Sucuri Site.

  8. Albert says:

    Their terms state a 30 day refund policy here: https://www.sitelock.com/downloads/SiteLock_Terms.pdf, but i was told on the phone its only 3 days. i had to file dispute with my credit card company to get my money back for a $26/month scanner that didn’t prevent a malware attack on my site.

  9. Bill says:

    I moved my website from IPage to Hostgator for a year and a half now. Did not order sitelock.I have bullet proof security. This month just got email from Hostgator saying that someone was attempting to get into my website, and after 3 attempts they shut it down. They wanted me to order sitelock …Never..I found Bullet proof works:) Website back up.

  10. Zoltan says:

    I had some issues with my blueHost this morning and asked them to move my site to another server. Now I don’t know if this is a coincidence but I got a call that afternoon from SiteLock saying that my site was not coming up and blueHost had contacted them. I put the caller on hold and then I tested it on 3 computers and various browsers. My site comes up, no malicious file messages which is what he said he got on their internal computers. Then I googled SiteLock and saw ALL of the complaints. When I took the guy off hold and spoke to the guy – I mentioned that his company SiteLock wan’t coming up smelling like roses on the web. I told him I didn’t see a problem and would just keep things as is. He quickly thanked me and hung up. No hard sell – I guess he realized i had seen what they were all about. Scam artists. Phu Yuk – SiteLock.

  11. Sam says:

    Had the same TERRIBLE experience with SITELOCK trying to twist my arm to spend over $1,000 to protect my site from what they originally said their service would protect my site from. They should be called SITESCAM! GoDaddy should be ashamed to recommend SiteLock to their customers and be affiliated with them.

  12. Julie says:

    I had a very long email conversation with Hostgator customer service (partner affiliations) after my similar experience. I detailed every aspect of the “heated” scam phone call by Sitelock. Hostgator initiated the detailed email conversation after I complained. The gist of my complaint of course was, “Why are you recommending any of your clients to this group?” Admittedly, there is a fine line between security outfits, who really are just doing their job and being overprotective, and a full on scam like Sitelock. The crap they told me on the phone to get me to shell out $1000, it was unbelievable. “You’ll get pulled from Google!” and “Your site has more bot traffic than human web traffic, you are in trouble!” But the whole web has more bot traffic than human traffic… At every turn it was a scam upsell designed to scare the living daylights out of a conscientious webmaster. I quickly moved to Sucuri.net. Happy as a clam!

  13. Janice says:

    IPage hosts my websites; twice they have taken down my sites due to “malicious” files. It is nothing but a tactic to get you to purchase additional “protection” from Site Lock who they partner with.

    I have a WordPress account and a FREE plugin which detects and removes suspicious looking files. The problem is, I can’t sign into WordPress to run the plugin because IPage suspended my accounts. So I called IPage and they supposedly un-suspended them but they aren’t up yet.

    I’m a small business and can’t afford Sucuri. Does anyone have any other ideas for me?

  14. Steve says:

    The people at Sitelock are assholes. My site was down and the hosting site asked me to resort to SITELOCK. I paid them USD150 for one month, and 20 days past, they did nothing, nobody contacts me and solve my problem. I went to their site to complain with their live talk section and nobody even type one word after I saying out my problem. SITELOCK is totally a cheat. They are very sweet and kind before charging your money, but after that they did nothing and only your money will be locked, I think they should be called “MONEYlock”. kEEP AWAY FROM THIS CHEAT.!

    Having read this I thought it was very enlightening. I appreciate you taking the time and energy to put this content together. I once again find myself spending a significant amount of time both reading and commenting. But so what, it was still worth it!

  15. grumbleco says:

    Just GOT to share this laugh :

    Got two ‘Your site….’ emails
    Scanned and checked clean by Wordfence and Malware scanner
    Asked for more details
    Got the vague and generic reply

    I replied :

    So, let me get this straight

    I have not subscribed to SiteLock
    You have scanned my sites without my permission – Illegally
    You claim I have malware when 2 of the most respected security plugins say I am free from malware
    Your ‘sample malware’ included in your last email is a blank line
    You can’t point to any infected files despite my requests
    The latest site (Jam88.com) you claim ‘Has malware’ is an empty folder.

    So, kindly explain yourself, or is this just a scam to frighten me into buying your alleged services?

    Everything is very open with a clear clarification of the challenges. It was truly informative. Your website is useful. Many thanks for sharing!

  16. Rudy says:

    Thanks. I just got the Sitelock scam routine now you described above. I will henceforward ask my host, Bluehost, to consider elminating them from the bundled package that linked one of my web sites to theirs. This was very helpful.

    PS…I would like to thank you for the efforts you have put in writing this blog. I really hope to check out the same high-grade blog posts by you later on as well. In truth, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get my own blog now

  17. Colleen says:

    Okay — I am right in everyone’s boat here. I had already located Sucuri and was about to switch, this thread says indeed I must do so. The upsell is horrific from Sitelock, the scare tactics are pretty awful too. It was a tense phone call the first time Sitelock sent the security alert and called (I auto signed up for scans from Hostgator). We were yelling back and forth because one cannot ignore the EXTREME upsell. “If you don’t do it, Google will delist you!” 99.9% of the malicious alerts were BOGUS. On a website 2,200 pages, I had ONE link pointing to a U.S. city website that appeared to be having some problems. That was the big killer malicious cross link. Be really careful, these guys will put you through a $$$ hose. I have my own business and web site clients to consider. No way, would I ever recommend.

  18. Connie says:

    My Hosting came with Sitelock. $14.95..I have one tiny website. Back in Sept 2013 Sitelock didn’t like the page I made on my website, nor did they like me linking wordpress with Ten Minute Pages.
    They said- “We have detected a critical cross-site scripting vulnerability at your site. From your dashboard, you can also take advantage of our Expert Services team to help you correct this issue and get your SiteLock certification back in good standing.”
    What I was told from SiteLock was it would cost me hundreds$$$ to fix. What I was told and what was really the issue was two different things. After speaking with Sitelock, I realized they wanted an enormous amount of $$ and there was no security breach. I called my hosting and spoke to the manager and he agreed with me, sounded surprised and would speak to Site lock and I wouldn’t have to worry about it. Come- Jan 2014-they sent the same email again I called my hosting mgr again and he said he would take care of it.
    Sitelock sent another email and I responded- This email is now considered harassment. You are on notice.
    Today my host sent me an email and shut my website down within 1/2 hour of the email. The email read- “There has been new activity on the iP…. support ticket for your account.” Nothing was said about shutting it down. I called and they said it was infected.

    The manager I had been speaking to about this issue in January and September is, of course, no longer working for the company.
    I had 3 malware checks done today from 3 different companies and they all said it was free of malware and there was no hacking. The whole thing sounds just wrong.

    PS…Spot on with this write-up, I really think this amazing site needs a lot more attention. I’ll probably be returning to read more, thanks for the information!

  19. Jan says:

    Good luck trying to cancel your account. They do everything verbally and will continue to bill your card no matter how many people you talk to or how many times you tell them you don’t want their “services.” They are complete scammers!!!! I finally cancelled my card to get rid of them.

  20. Riley says:

    I had the very same experience. Then I saw the bad reviews on Sitelock and cancelled all my accounts with them.
    Does anyone know of a good, honest service that will protect our sites ?

    Ps…I was excited to uncover this website. I need to to thank you for ones time due to this wonderful read!! I definitely really liked every bit of it and I have you saved to fav to see new information in your blog.

  21. Amy says:

    Site Lock customer service was horrible. Spoke with Danielle Dearaujo. Spent all her time trying to get me to pay hundreds of dollars to get my site fixed. This is after I’ve already spent tons of money protecting it with Site Lock. Since hiring them, my site is worse than ever before. BE CAREFUL AND AVOID SITE LOCK – THEY’RE CROOKS WHO WILL FURTHER CORRUPT YOUR SITE AND HOLD YOU HOSTAGE BY ASKING YOU TO PAY HUNDREDS TO UN-CORRUPT!!!! BEWARE!!!! Stay far away from these thieves!!!

  22. Joe S says:

    I signed up for Sitelock with the understanding that it would protect my site. I paid some nominal fee through Bluehost and thought it was protecting my site. I got charged yearly without knowing that it was happening, then called Sitelock to have them refund me. They have great sales people there and somehow I was talked into paying more!

    This morning I logged into my Sitelock account and found NO WAY TO CANCEL my account! I have submitted a ticket and I will ask for a refund when I finally talk to someone.

    Those sales people must get paid scads of money because they sure know how to lay it on!

    I absolutely love your website.. Very nice colors & theme. Did you create this amazing site yourself? Please reply back as I’m trying to create my own blog and would like to find out where you got this from or exactly what the theme is named. Kudos!

  23. Jennifer says:

    Apparently BlueHost, Hostgator, and wait for it…. SiteLock, are all owned by the same parent company – sheds a whole lot of light, and seems more and more like a scam. Just moved my hacked sites at Hostgator to SiteGround for exactly the same reasons as stated in your article and the comments that follow.

  24. John says:

    I received a message from sitelock my website is open for some hacker attack.i start a chat with the assistance and after 2 minutes my website is broken.

    they start to offer me a support for 79 box. I was very surprised about that so i decided to don’t accept the offer and inform my authority and my hosting.

    Then happened something strange: after closing a chat with Sitelock, my website came back.SITELOCK IS A FRAUDE AND NOBODY DO ANYTHING TO BLOCKING THEM !!!!!!

    Ps…I truly love your site..

  25. Edmundo M. says:

    Suddenly without any warning all of my sites (9) are infected and made not available by Ipage
    Called Ipage and was told in no uncertain terms I need to talk to SiteLOCK.
    conveniently, SiteLock just so happens to now be in the very same IPage office.
    Really?
    So, my websites are fine for years, no hacks, no problems.
    Then IPage gets together with SiteLock and all of a sudden ALL of my sites are infected with malware.
    I gotta be blunt here, something smells funny and it ain’t the kitty litter I’m talking about.
    Get this, Tuesday after paying for a SiteLock Security Scan to clean my sites, the sites go up only to go down again.
    Yeah right. So okay, I was born, but not yesterday, you know what I’m saying here.

    Ps…I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Fantastic job. I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  26. Lucia S says:

    Suddenly without any warning all of my sites (9) are infected and made not available by Ipage
    Called Ipage and was told in no uncertain terms I need to talk to SiteLOCK.
    conveniently, SiteLock just so happens to now be in the very same IPage office.
    Really?
    So, my websites are fine for years, no hacks, no problems.
    Then IPage gets together with SiteLock and all of a sudden ALL of my sites are infected with malware.
    I gotta be blunt here, something smells funny and it ain’t the kitty litter I’m talking about.
    Get this, Tuesday after paying for a SiteLock Security Scan to clean my sites, the sites go up only to go down again.
    Yeah right. So okay, I was born, but not yesterday, you know what I’m saying here.

    Quick question that’s completely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My site looks weird when viewing from my iphone. I’m trying to find a template or plugin that might be able to resolve this problem. If you have any recommendations, please share. Thanks!

  27. Courtney A. says:

    They pushed a hacker protection plan for my website as I kept getting SQL injections that would take down my website for days at a time.When I hired an outside programmer to help harden my website against this, he created a log file that recorded and highlighted every hacking attempt including the originating IP.

    It turns out every single instance of a hacking attempt came from SiteLock. In other words, they were the reason I had to purchase anti-hacking protection to begin with. I dropped them like a bad habit as soon as I found this out and even called to complain to them about this as being totally unethical. They denied this.

    But I still have the IPs of the *** attempts.

    SiteLock is pure evil!Stay away.

  28. Coleen R says:

    Sitelock sells a product they call “Find” to protect a site from malware, to locate the offending file so you can delete it.Unfortunately, it doesn’t find even the most basic malware attack.
    When pressed, Sitelock admits they only look at 25 files on the website. They also admit that hackers know this, so they place the malware on a slightly deeper level. They told me: “it only scans the first twenty five web pages of the site.

    And there are hackers who, because of this, target with malware only the 26th and on.” Then of course, they try to sell you a product that actually does something useful.Shame on you Sitelock.

  29. mike G. says:

    Dont buy from SiteLock!

    I have not had an issue with any sort of blocking on any of my website for over 6 years and last week on the suggestion of Netfirms I bought the Premium package from Site lock because Netfirms told me that this would be the plan that finds the malware and then cleans it up for me. So of course this sounded like a good plan. Interestingly the day after I sign on with Site Lock Google black lists my website and site lock is telling me that this is a malware they can’t clean up for me and that I would have to pay $200 extra for them to clean this up. Plus I should pay another $60 a month for a firewall to make sure it doesnt happen again. Ps I found out this info on the second call because on the first call they told me that they would had fixed the problem and resubmitted to Google for me and would call me that night to let me know the status which they never did call me back until another agent called me 4 days later.

    Then we got Netfirms involved because Sitelock said its their fault for leading me to believe that the premium plan would clean up my malware and that is not the case I am paying only to get some malware removed. The Sitelock agent had the nerve to accuse me of lying and that the first agent never said that they had cleaned up my site and would resubmit to google which outraged me. He said that they listened to the call and it was never said which I know is untrue so I requested a copy of the call they listened to and they said they would send it and of course never did because they know I was right and they are the ones lying.

    So I would like to spread the word about my awful experience with Sitelock the supposed leader in website security. You be the judge is it just coincidence that the day after I sign on with Sitelock I get hacked and get blacklisted from google? Or could it be that Sitelock is leaking their client list to some hackers and paying them under the table to *** into their new clients sites so that the client will have to pay Sitelock more money to get their site cleaned by them. Sitelock stands to make a lot of money on us poor suckers. Just imagine how easy it would be for them to do this and there would be no way to find out unless one of the Hackers came clean about it and why would they do it when Sitelock is paying them good money to do this. I know I am sounding like a conspiracy theorist but honestly this is just too much of a coincidence.

  30. Chara E. says:

    Sitelock.com is a fraud. They cancelled my account in May 2013 and billed my card for next 7 months.
    When I contacted them, no one answered me properly and asked its your fault you did not lookup your credit card monthly billing.
    I forwarded they all proof regarding cancellation confirmation email receipt from their system, they declined to refund.
    DO NOT TRUST sitelock.com. They don’t have any CEO or answerable person to answer this payment fraud case.
    You wont get service or satisfaction, but only scam. Your credit card data will be hacked. Don’t add your credit card details on sitelock website or account
    When you call them, they put on hold for 30 minutes or longer.

Leave a Reply


Wordpress SEO Plugin by SEOPressor